portada de BMM

Felicia Esquinas

In 1970, the publication of a book called "Nueve novísimos poetas españoles", by Josep Maria Castellet, brought forth considerable commotion in the Spanish literary media. The "nine very new poets" in question were : Manuel Vàzquez Montalbán, Antonio Martínez Sarrión, José Maria Alvarez, Félix de Azúa, Pere Gimferrer, Vicente Molina Foix, Guillermo Carnero, Ana Maria Moix, and Leopoldo María Panero. Now, that polemical anthology has been reissued for the first time by "Península". It is one of the events organized by the "62 Group" to pay homage to its president, Josep Maria Castellet, who will be 75 next december. In June, the "62 Group" will also rescue one of the most important essays ever published by the writer and former literary critic, "La hora del lector" (1957), a work intended as a vindication of the active role played by the reader in the literary creation process. The book includes a critical study by Laureà Bonet. (...)